Bioinformatic solutions for PacBio HiFi reads

For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostics procedures.
© Copyright 2019 by Pacific Biosciences of California, Inc. All rights reserved. 
1305 O'Brien Rd., Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  Legal & Trademarks

Date:      Thursday, May 14, 2020
Time:
     08:30 a.m.  New Delhi
     11:00 a.m.  Beijing, Singapore
     12:00 p.m.  Seoul, Tokyo
     01:00 p.m.  Melbourne

 

Speaker:

The release of the PacBio Sequel II System in 2019 brought dramatic throughput improvements and protocols for producing a new data type, highly accurate long reads or HiFi reads. PacBio is the only sequencing technology to offer highly accurate long reads (HiFi reads) that provide Sanger-quality accuracy (>99%) with the read lengths needed for assembly of complex genomes. The long length and high accuracy of HiFi reads makes them the ideal starting point for many applications, and one area of major interest is genome assembly. HiFi assembly is faster, cheaper, more accurate, and easier to phase than standard long-read assembly. 
 

In this webinar, you will learn: 
  1. The difference between long reads and HiFi reads.
  2. The strengths of HiFi read assembly for human, plant, animal, and insect genomes.
  3. About step-by-step instruction on how to assemble HiFi reads using the publicly available FALCON package, which can be found here


We look forward to your participation as you learn about SMRT Sequencing!

 

Khi Pin Chua, Ph.D.
Field Applications Support, Bioinformatics
PacBio Asia Pacific




 

By registering on this web page, you are consenting and agreeing to collection and use of that information by PacBio in accordance with its Privacy Policy.