Small Bodies, Big Genomes: Overcoming Large DNA Input
Requirements for Long-Read Genome Assembly

For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostics procedures.
© Copyright 2019 by Pacific Biosciences of California, Inc. All rights reserved. 
1305 O'Brien Rd., Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  Legal & Trademarks

By registering on this web page, you are consenting and agreeing to collection and use of that information by PacBio in accordance with its Privacy Policy.

A high-quality reference genome is an essential tool in plant and animal genomics. However, relatively high DNA input requirements (≥5 µg for a standard library) have previously placed PacBio genome assemblies out of reach for many projects on small, non-inbred organisms that have limited DNA content.

In this webinar we will present the low DNA input workflow, from DNA requirements through library preparation and sequencing, for generation of high-quality genome assemblies of small-bodied organisms. In addition, we will highlight the use of this workflow on the North American ice worm (Mesenchytraeus solifugus), which has a genome size of ~1.6 Gb and lives its entire life cycle in glacier ice, creating a unique opportunity to look at adaptation to harsh environments.
 
ATTENDEE TAKEAWAYS: 

  • Understand requirements for use of the low DNA input workflow for genome assembly

  • Learn how the low DNA input workflow enabled sequencing of the large genome of the small-bodied ice worm

  • Gain new insights into the ice worm genome and its adaptations to life in glacier ice


SPEAKERS:

REGISTER NOW
Date: Thursday, September 12, 2019
Time: 9:30 a.m. PDT
12:30 p.m. EDT
5:30 p.m. BST
Erin Bernberg, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
University of Delaware Sequencing and Genotyping Center
Michelle Vierra
Manager, Plant and Animal Sciences
PacBio
Scott Hotaling, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Researcher
School of Biological Sciences, Washington State University