A Quick Guide to Metagenomic Analysis with PacBio HiFi Reads

For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostic procedures.
© Copyright 2020 by Pacific Biosciences of California, Inc. All rights reserved. 
1305 O'Brien Rd., Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  Legal & Trademarks

Register Now

By registering on this web page, you are consenting and agreeing to collection and use of that information by PacBio in accordance with its Privacy Policy.

Date: Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Time:
9:00 - 10:00 a.m. San Francisco
12:00 - 1:00 p.m. New York City
5:00 - 6:00 p.m. London

Location:


GoToWebinar link will be provided upon registration

In this webinar we will:

  • Review the different commonly used study designs for metagenomics experiments using the Sequel II System and HiFi reads
  • Discuss the workflows, tools, and best practices for CCS analysis, shotgun assembly, gene finding, and profiling
  • Spotlight recent publications and emerging techniques
  • Walk-through the command line workflow for data analysis

Speakers:


Meredith Ashby, PhD
Director, Market Strategy for Microbial and Cancer Genomics
PacBio




Daniel Portik
Bioinformatics Scientist, Applications
PacBio




Kristina (Kay) Weber, PhD
Bioinformatics Field Application Scientist, North America East 
PacBio

 

This event is free, but registration is required – please let us know you are coming by registering now!

Join our webinar to learn how to use HiFi reads to profile and characterize metagenomics samples.

Using Single Molecule, Real-Time (SMRT) Sequencing, you can generate highly accurate long reads – HiFi reads – with Q20 or 99% accuracy and above for 10 kb or more. This high accuracy resolution of each single molecule enables species or strain-level profiling of complex populations in both targeted and shotgun sequencing experiments. Genome assemblies are more cost effective than ever before when sequencing metagenomics samples with the Sequel II System.